vreedwrites

. . . about a variety of subjects

The Set-up

Fast Forward

I’ll skip the 25 years ago tank story for now. . . . . . . .

September 19, 2009 I bought a betta to ease me through grief. I want another dog.
I am not prepared at this time to fight with the landlord.
I did not connect the arrival of FredFish with grief at first,
I was too busy dealing with the first crisis; cloudy water in 24 hrs.

One Fish, Two Fish, fRed Fish, Blue Fish. Yes it has been done, but not by me

I did not like the way FredFish was behaving in the bowl,
and it is a lot more work than I care to engage in.
I am a non-trad student; hobbies are fine but study comes first.

FredFish root-pruning my water lettuce. I did not actually catch him
getting rid of all the roots, this is as close as I came.
However, this is a really good shot of his coloration.

I went to the LPS to buy a 5g, it is better for him & better for me.
I also bought all the mechanical junk that goes with it.
Based on my foggy recollections of my previous tanks, I got most of it right.

FredFish perked up on the two day excursion out of the betta hotel.
He made friends with or adopted as a pet, “reflection-fish”. He and reflection-fish
would swim nose-to-nose around the back of the tank for hours.
I finally put a stop to that because I was concerned FredFish would exhaust himself
while recovering from the fin-rot he came with.
I put two different brightly colored scrapbook papers along the back and side-wall
of the tank to make reflection-fish disappear. FredFish still went to the back wall
to look for reflection-fish and swam half-hearted patterns to try to attract
his pal/pet. Even when he went back into the bowl/hotel,
he swam patterns looking for reflection-fish.

I really liked the bare-bottom, minimalist look. However I had been reading
about cycling a new tank. Why did none of this sound familiar?
Oh, yeaaaaaah, that is what Dad was doing, and why it took forever
to stock the 20, all those years ago. So, I take the plunge; one fish, why not?

This is what not to do, dear noob. Wash the media before putting it into your tank.
Do not expect your filter to clear it up. You’ll blow the filter. Just trust us.
Besides, you want that filter helping to make a nice little chem brew,
do you not?

Now I have a few hobbies; pottery being one of them occasionally, I knew better. Silt=bad.
Silty, water, mucky mess, out comes the water, out comes the fancy Flouralite substrate.

Just a few illustrations for the noobs who are not convinced, . . . yet.
Curly braces: silt still swirling around in the water.
Elliptical braces: you can almost see the substrate.

I moved the tank to the end of the counter, so the sun could help with
the whole bio-chem process.

Speaks for itself, dear noob.


After washing the fancy Flouralite & running the filter for 24hrs.
Does not seem much clearer; however trust me it is. The light from outside
has to come through a window, two panes of glass and the water.

Hang on . . . having a “water-event” here, it is wc day as I write ~~~~~~~

Comments are closed.

